Carbs and Injuries

27 Jul

Meet my new best friend!

He’s only a stray dog I keep seeing every where on base. There is like a pack of dogs in the morning at 5 AM every time I am heading to spin class.

Speaking of spin class, I got some workouts to post!

Monday: Weights + Stair climber. Approx. time 1:37 minutes. (ab work)
Tuesday: Spin class + elliptical
Wednesday: Stair climber+ weights. Approx. time of two hours (ab work)
Thursday: Spin class + 28 minutes elliptical + 9 minutes of ab work
Friday: Stair climber + elliptical + weights. Approx. time of two hours. (Ab work)

And I’m starving, like, all the time. I eat about every two hours if that.

So far I have had no fried foods and this is day two. Go me. Nineteen more days left. 

In the past week, however, I have been craving carbs. Haven’t you guys heard that when your body is craving something like maybe an apple or cheese, it actually wants it? Like, if you are craving a banana, you body wants potassium.

I’m just healing from a muscle strain. (Yes, my leg is healing and feeling better. Thanks for asking.) When healing from an injury, some time your body may need more carbs. True story, bro.

I normally eat a very low carb diet. I am not a big fan of bread or pasta. I don’t really like noodles or donuts. I eat cereal and some rice, but that’s about it. Okay. Pizza too. However, lately I want carbs all the time. For a snack I eat a rice cake or bread with peanut butter. So good. Then, I came across an article about carbs and injuries:

“Prevention of injury involves identifying risk factors that would predispose one to injury and developing strategies to attenuate or eliminate their presence. Because muscle glycogen depletion is associated with fatigue and injury, it should be treated as a possible risk factor. Muscle glycogen stores are derived almost entirely from carbohydrate intake. Because there is a limited capacity to store muscle glycogen, and because muscle glycogen is the predominant fuel in exercise of moderate to severe intensity, the nutritional focus should be on carbohydrate consumption. Easy-to-follow nutritional strategies should be employed that will maximize muscle glycogen stores and delay the onset of fatigue. Individuals involved in activities lasting less than 60 minutes need to consume an adequate amount of carbohydrate daily and a pre-event meal before the start of the activity. However, individuals participating in activities longer than 60 minutes or participating in activities requiring repeated bouts of high intensity exercise need to: 1) consume an adequate amount of carbohydrate daily, 2) practice carbohydrate loading, 3) consume the pre-event meal, and 4) ingest carbohydrates immediately before, during, and after the activity.”

I do work out a lot (no running yet. Don’t make me cry.). I work out for usually for 1 hour, 30ish minutes and lately I have been doing two hours – an hour or more of cardio plus weights. 

I WANT CARBS. FEED ME CARBS

I ordered bread sticks. Who am I? 

Ms. Insane Carb Loader. That’s who I am.

In addition, for any injury, recovery involves more protein.

There are two types of proteins – animal proteins and vegetable proteins. Animal proteins include milk protein (or “complete milk protein”), which has both casein and whey together. Casein protein prevents muscle breakdown, whereas whey protein builds muscles. Whey is easy to digest, absorbed more quickly than casein and is therefore the animal protein of choice for injuries. Vegetable proteins include soy protein (excellent for recovery), rice protein and legumes such as beans. Rice and beans are not a complete source of protein, meaning that they do not contain all the essential amino acids, but in combination they become complete. Soy protein is the only vegetable source of complete protein.

Top quality protein-rich foods like eggs (or egg whites), soy products, lean meats, fish and non-fat or low-fat dairy products will aid healing and are essential in coming back from a sports injury. And don’t skimp on calories during an injury because this can delay healing. If you do not provide enough fuel for your brain, muscles or other organs to function, your body will raid your cells to function. If you are losing weight, be careful. You may not be getting enough protein to fully recover.

I try to eat as much protein as possible. If you’re interested, I can do a post on what I eat protein wise. A vlog if you will. Let me know. I take requests. No karaoke.

Anyway, protein is my favorite nutrient or… whatever you want to call it.

If you are injured or in the recovery process, carbs won’t kill you. They will help your muscles recovery. Just remember protein > carbs. Protein will always out weigh carbs. Then also, make sure you eat the ‘good’ carbs. I eat cereal, but I eat flax seed/quinoa/whole wheat carbs.

In terms of fats, I own about seven peanut butter/nut butter jars.

Enough said. 

4 Responses to “Carbs and Injuries”

  1. Alexandra July 27, 2012 at 3:46 AM #

    Protein is my favorite nutrient too, I can’t get enough chicken and seafood haha
    Love your dog friend, and umm chocolate sunflower seed butter?!?! Get in mah belly!!! 😀
    Keep up the great work with your fried food challenge!

  2. charlotte July 27, 2012 at 9:20 AM #

    i would LOVE to hear how you get your protein- especially in vlog formatting, definitely more entertaining! i’m looking to increase my own protein consumption so its always good to hear from others how they do it.
    those grabber graduates are amaazing…i just ignore the kids themed packaging :p

  3. IHeartVegetables July 27, 2012 at 10:25 AM #

    I craaaaaaaaave carbs, but not really in the healthy sense. I’m one of those people that could dive face first into a bag of pretzels and not emerge until they’re all gone.

    I don’t actually DO that (very often…) but I could. ha.

  4. Goober Nut's Life July 27, 2012 at 11:22 AM #

    I love protein, too! Sometimes I wonder if I eat WAY more than my little body even needs. lol! Yesterday, after that walk with my friend, though, I was craving carbs like crazy! Out went the fruit and cereal in my cupboards and into my belly! 😉

Leave a Reply

