Cheating on Running

3 Aug

I always have super awesome ideas for posts in my head, but then I don’t remember them ever again.

Well, first thing is first…

My workout today included me waking up at again at 4:45 AM, lifting for over an hour with some cardio (22 minutes). Then, I just got back from running at 8 PM at night in the rain.

It was only twenty minutes, but whatever. Better than nothing, right? And I did lift weights forever today. I’m not even hungry, but I chowed down like I was. I blame the five hours of sleep. If that. I need at least seven to function.

Also, I am adding one more day onto my no eating sweets challenge. I ate a brownie today. In my defense, the chow hall I workout rarely makes ‘homemade’ treats and this was a ‘homemade’ raisin nut brownie. How could I resist? So, I’m adding on a day for that and only because I am modifying my challenge. I will allow myself at least one sweet a week, if that.

Anyway, back to weight lifting…

I LOVE IT AGAIN. I need some good websites for workouts though. Any suggestions? Maybe workouts to get in shape like these ladies?

I want to be them. Seriously.

I feel like I am cheating on running because I really do want to run! I just don’t want to run on a damn treadmill yet I don’t want to die outside because it is so hot. Ahhhh. I love you, running. Don’t leave me. 

Lifting right now is great. I love it. I’m trying to get strong again and get a tight stomach. The only probably I have with me lifting is I remove a lot of cardio and I feel like  I don’t get a good workout because I’m not sweating like I would on a run. You know what I mean? I sweat a little bit doing weights when I get super into it and I’m like lifting 70 pounds over my head then leg pressing twice my weight.

I miss running a lot. I miss running in Portland. 

I plan on running tomorrow (Saturday morning for me). Then, hitting up the grocery store, making a tattoo appointment, and hanging out with friends.

Oh, and I will blog about what I’m currently eating and vegan-ism. Whadya say?

Q&A:
– Ever cheated on running, your favorite sport, lifting, etc.?

9 Responses to “Cheating on Running”

  1. IHeartVegetables August 3, 2012 at 7:49 AM #

    I feel the same way about running! I’ve been trying to run a little despite the heat, but it’s not easy!!

  2. resiliencesc August 3, 2012 at 8:20 AM #

    Well if you wanted Crossfit workouts with great, safe programming I’d use http://www.crossfitfootball.com or google James “OPT” Fitzgerald and get on his women’s programming.

    Avoid anything posted (workout-wise) on the Crossfit main site.

  3. Diana August 3, 2012 at 8:20 AM #

    Seriously, you’ve got nothing on me – I’m cheating on running hardcore right now. I have a half next weekend and I’ve biked over 60 miles in three days this week, while only running 22… I’m not sure if I’m being smart by trying to cross train to save my knee before the race, or if it’s just complete and utter stupidity on my part. I’d love to run, but I do want to keep my knee in tiptop shape over the next week – I figure if I get my key workouts in and replace the junk miles with cycling, I should be OK.

  4. Goober Nut's Life August 3, 2012 at 11:14 AM #

    lol, I feel like I’ve been cheating on running, too! I feel bad for it, because I’ve only been able to give it a few miles a week during Best Body Bootcamp, but when cross country season starts, I’ll be running 5 miles a day and will probably be missing lifting instead. Thank goodness there’s a weight room at my school, because I can probably squeeze some time in there, too! 😀

  5. allieksmith August 3, 2012 at 11:45 AM #

    I like to cheat on running with swimming 🙂

  6. HollieisFueledByLOLZ August 3, 2012 at 5:35 PM #

    I have cheated on running multiple times with swimming, with weight lifting. It will def always be there for you when you the weather cools or whenever. I love that you are so dedicated to weights. I cannot even imagine weight lifting for an hour. Oh my stars!

  7. runservecook August 4, 2012 at 4:30 AM #

    Working out isnt all about sweating and getting cardio in ! You wont gain much muscle with lots of cardio~!

  8. Alex @ therunwithin August 4, 2012 at 8:23 AM #

    I wish I could get into lifting… my running self loves running too much.

  9. Erin August 4, 2012 at 10:52 AM #

    I used to feel that way about running, which is why I joined track at my school in the first place. I would always make excuses for not running (fairly legitimate excuses, like having 4+ hours of homework… but nonetheless, excuses). The track team ran 5 days a week and I couldn’t just skip out on practice, so it was a good solution. Plus, it actually helped me with school because I was WAY less stressed out.

    I just started doing CrossFit, and it’s so fun! Unfortunately I’m the weakest person there, but I guess I couldn’t hope for much more after 4 years of running with minimal strength training.

Leave a Reply

