Randomness

7 Aug

I blog currently from the entrance of my barracks, where I reside on 24 hour duty. I’m on hour five I believe. Nineteen more hours to go.

I have no idea if the above sentence makes sense, but let’s just say with all these free hours I have, I will be posting a lot.

So I started my morning off at 4:30 AM to go on a run on the treadmill at the gym. It was tough waking up. I didn’t get home last night until ten PM. Next time I read someone having to work early/over time, wake up earlier than seven, or write a paper for school, I’m going to be pissed. Try working from 7:30 AM to 10 PM. Yeah, complain to me then.

Anyway, my run went well. I ran 10 miles on the treadmill and then hopped on the stair climber for about twenty minutes. I did the same thing Tuesday as well. 

Ten miles seems reasonable for me to do. I actually don’t mind running on the treadmill any more. As long as I got a TV in front of me, some good tunes, people to watch, and a fan, I can run for a long time.

The Olympics keep me entertained forever!

Oh my gosh. I am that girl at the gym who watches the Olympics and gets too excited. I start yelling at the TV. “GO, LOLO, GO!”

 

I recently just read an article Time Magazine about Lolo Jones. She’s so incredible. 

 

Growing up in Des Moines, Iowa, jones was a five-star prospect — as a thief. Jones pilfered food for survival. She was fast, which helped during getaways. And she didn’t have a larcenous profile. “My dad would always say they’re never going to suspect me because they never look at a cute young girl,” says Jones. Her father shuttled in out of prison but tutored her in the fine art of snatching TV dinners. “There was definitely shame for sure, but looking back, I was able to eat,” she says. “There’s a Hungry-Man — steak and potatoes and a little brownie — you’re like, I’m all over that.”

Jones’ mother worked low-paying clerical and housekeeping jobs to support Lolo and her four siblings. The family bounced around apartments, and Jones went to eight schools in eight years. Given such upheaval, she struggled to keep friends. “The hardest thing was not having those conversations with a girl pal, like when you’re talking hours on the phone,” she says. “I don’t remember those moments.”

When Lolo was in third grade, the family became homeless and bunked in the basement of a Salvation Army church. “That was the dark place where the kids just would not go,” Jones says. “And all of a sudden, we’re living there. I just remember the open showers and coldness to it.” To hide her dismal plight from other kids, she would wake up early to play in the church gym before children arrived for camp. That way, it appeared that someone had dropped her off.

Jones was always running: when the family car broke down, she would jump out and sprint to the store. The practice paid off. She picked up the hurdles in high school and showed so much promise that in her junior year, when her mother moved to Forest City, Iowa — about 125 miles (200 km) north of Des Moines — Lolo stayed behind to pursue a college scholarship. She lived with three different families before leaving for college, still struggling to fit in. “Think about her situation,” says former Des Moines Register editor Randy Essex, who took Jones in for 16 months. “Her dad is in and out of her life, her family moved a lot, and all of a sudden she moves in with these people who are pretty much strangers.”

Read more: http://olympics.time.com/2012/07/19/lolo-jones-olympic-hurdler/#ixzz22vDkkhWd

 

She’s definitely one of my favorites this year.

I’m so angry that I couldn’t watch the marathon due to the typhoon! Ah, it was so traumatic that I missed it. I can’t find any videos of it either. Youtube? I don’t know.

It still gives me the chills. 

 

I don’t even know the full story of the marathon, but seeing photos makes me so incredibly happy. It makes me want to run. It makes me want to a run a marathon.

 

As soon as I get out of the Marines, I’m going to college and running. Running all the time. I know it’s so far fetched to be like, “Hey, I want to be in the Olympics and run marathons and be pro and blah blah blah”, but that’s how I feel. So what? A girl can dream, right?

I think it’s okay to dream big and to have enormous goals. It doesn’t hurt anyone really.

I have a lot of goals. They change daily. As of now, my goal is to go 21 days (and longer) without fried foods such as onion rings and French fries. I’m doing great.

My next goal is to make it without sweets. Not going too well actually. I need to re-think that goal and add rules or something.

My other goals include:

  • Run a marathon
  • Run an ultras for a living
  • Run a 24 hour race
  • Go to Finland
  • Run international races
  • Run professional
  • Write for fitness magazines
  • Coach

What are your goals?

9 Responses to “Randomness”

  1. Diana August 7, 2012 at 10:04 PM #

    My current goal is a sub-1:40 half – it’s my first half, but I think it *should* be attainable given that I feel alright on race day. I’ve been doing a bit of speedwork and stuff that has given me confidence, but we’ll see how it goes on Saturday…

    • lifttorun August 7, 2012 at 10:06 PM #

      Let me know how it goes!

      • Diana August 7, 2012 at 10:20 PM #

        Thanks – I’m going to try to channel some of your intense talent and focus when I try to place in my age group (under 20). I don’t know that there are too many runners my age around here, so fingers crossed…

  2. Goober Nut's Life August 7, 2012 at 10:14 PM #

    I love that you dream big, because if you live a life where you constantly think about your limits or what you feel you “could never do”, you’d be living one miserable life. One of my favorite quotes is, “Even the word ‘impossible’ says ‘I’m possible’!” 🙂

  3. Alexandra August 8, 2012 at 2:46 AM #

    Lolo is freakin awesome, she’s such an inspiration! And speaking of inspirations, you’re amazing girl. I am IN LOVE with your goals in life– there’s no doubt in my mind you’ll be a professional runner one day. You have a passion for running like none other, so I won’t be shocked when I see you on the Olympic podium one day 😉

  4. Alex @ therunwithin August 8, 2012 at 5:29 AM #

    oh my gosh 430 am is dedication girl. also those hours are freaking long, i could not last that long at all. i love your dreaming and you certainly are an inspiration for me.

  5. HollieisFueledByLOLZ August 8, 2012 at 5:34 AM #

    LOLO is one of all my all time favorite runners. She is truly an inspiration for all girls alike.

  6. Courtney August 8, 2012 at 7:38 AM #

    You’re kind of ridiculous – 7:30 am to 10 pm?! Yea, I don’t think your Olympic dream is too far-fetched 😉

  7. gabby.runs August 9, 2012 at 7:11 PM #

    Sounds like a tiring day! Hope the rest of your shift went well. My dad is a paramedic and works 24 hour shifts – I know how tired he once he gets off! Doesn’t sounds fun to be up that long. Thanks for the article about LoLo, awesome! 🙂
    Best of luck with your goals. You’re totally right, nothing wrong with having big dreams! You can do it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

