No Crying in Running

11 Aug

I wanted to give a quick update as I drink my chai flaxseed smoothie because apparently when I tried to write a post last while eating   a veggie burger and spinach at 11:25 PM, it didn’t work out to well. Besides, wordpress has been acting strange on my computer. I don’t know. It’s probably just me.

The above paragraph only proves that I eat all the time.

Let’s go.

Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday I ran 10 miles. Monday and Thursday I stuck to the stair climber because I was beyond tired. Thursday was suppose to be an easy day at work because I had 24 hour duty the day/night before. It was awful. I didn’t get off of work until 2:30 PM. I took a thirty minute nap, worked out, and went to be at like 9:30 PM. I was exhausted.

Of course it felt amazing to sleep in on Saturday morning. I set an alarm for 7 AM and didn’t wake up until 8:30. I’m sorry, but that is sleeping in for me. I hate sleeping in that late. I feel like it messes up my whole day.

At least I got to watch the Olympics while running on the treadmill (13.22 miles) Saturday morning. I was practically shouting at the TV.

The women’s 4 X 400 relay broke a record! If you watched it in slow motion as she cross the finished line, it was incredible. Her face was serious then lit up because she knew she broke a record. So amazing. 

In the women’s 15oo meters, Morgan Uceny tripped! I saw it happened and went, “OH MY GOD!”

The only thing that pisses me off about her tripping is she just started crying. Wouldn’t you get up and just continue running? It’s not like she tore a muscle. She only tripped. I would have gotten angry, got my happy ass up, and continue running. What would you do in that situation? I feel like crying in front of of everyone like that is ridiculous. Get up and run. I have had my spikes come untied before in races. Do I stop and tie them? No. I keep going and come in first.

I guess it just bothers me she didn’t get up. It’s not like she had a Lolo Jones incident. There was not a tore muscle or a cramp. I believe crying like that over something that can be made up for is silly. I don’t know. I don’t want to sound harsh.

Either way, I give her a lot of credit. She’s in the Olympics for goodness sake. She is still an amazing athlete. 

Did anyone of you read this article on this columnist who wrote about women in the Olympics being ‘flat-chested’ and ‘man-like’? 

Here is what he said verbatim:

Turkish columnist Yüksel Aytuğ caused an online firestorm on Aug. 8 after penning an article that criticized the Olympic Games for “killing womanhood.”

Aytuğ’s piece, titled “Womanhood is dying at the Olympics,” was published in daily Sabah and the paper’s website but quickly spread after angering readers by saying the Olympic Games were destroying the female figure by distorting women’s bodies and that points should be added to female Olympians based on how feminine they looked.

Aytuğ said women’s associations should protest the Games and added that it was enough for him to “take a look at female swimmers” to reach that opinion.
“Broad-shouldered, flat-chested women with small hips; [they are] totally indistinguishable from men. Their breasts – the symbol of womanhood, motherhood – flattened into stubs as they were seen as mere hindrances to speed,” Aytuğ said.

“I am not even talking about female javelin throwers, shot-put athletes, weightlifters, wrestlers and boxers,” Aytuğ said. “Their appearance is just pathetic.”

Aytuğ said the Olympics forced women to “look more like men” in order to be successful and wrote about an ongoing “sporting violence against women,” while criticizing what he called an understanding of “the manlier you look the more successful you are.”

The columnist concluded by saying that female Olympians should be rewarded with additional bonus points based on how “feminine” they looked. “Otherwise we will destroy the grace and naïveté of women through the Olympics,” he concluded.

Is he joking right now? First of all, women become flat chested because sports like running and what not decrease our boob size. Am I right? I barely have boobs. I don’t care. I love running. Ever ran with huge boobs bouncing up and down? No thank you. Breasts are also fat tissue so women with a high metabolism and women who work out will lose that fat. 

Also, all these female athletes are beautiful! You see them in regular clothes and it’s like, woah. Actually, they aren’t even really that flat chested. It’s called a sports bra. A sports bra holds down those puppies.

I am positive that these women in the Olympics are more of a man than this guy who wrote the article. The Olympics are not a beauty contest. 

And why talk about the women? We could easily talk about the men with their bird legs. Should I even go there? 

I don’t know what I’m going to do when the Olympics are over. I don’t remember what I did before.

By the way, three more days left of my ‘no fried food’ challenge. I have had no onion rings, fries, or any other junk food like that. I’m so happy! Go me.

Here is what I have been eating instead:

8 Responses to “No Crying in Running”

  1. savynaturalista August 11, 2012 at 4:42 PM #

    Good for you 🙂

  2. dmlf August 11, 2012 at 4:54 PM #

    Look at you go with that fried food challenge! Knew you were going to rock it 🙂

    Oh, and that little race I mentioned a while back? This morning I did a 1:33:52 in my first ever half marathon for 66th overall (out of 7500) and 18th female. No clue about age placing, but probably top three if not first. Not quite as fast as you by any means, but there’s potential for more 😉 Next up is a marathon!

    • lifttorun August 11, 2012 at 5:03 PM #

      Woooo! Nice job. That’s a great time.

  3. HollieisFueledByLOLZ August 11, 2012 at 5:19 PM #

    So proud of you. That is awesome.

    I was also slightly confused of why she stopped running and cryed. Coming in last at an Olympic race is still light years ahead of the rest of the world.

  4. ihearteggs August 11, 2012 at 5:32 PM #

    Awesome job on the challenge!

    … and even at 250 lbs I was a B cup haha Yes, I’m lean now and have no boobs, but that does not make me manly

  5. Tara August 11, 2012 at 6:24 PM #

    I feel so bad for Morgan Uceny. And while I would like to think I would have kept going, I don’t know if I could. I know she was also tripped at the world championships last year. If that happened twice to me in some of the biggest races of my life I would be so upset.

    Did you watch the Jenna Marbles video? Because that was freaking awesome. That guy needs to learn a little about what sports do to you before he can say that because he really just sounds like an idiot.

    • lifttorun August 11, 2012 at 8:31 PM #

      Yeahh, I saw it earlier and then Jenna Marbles posted it.

  6. Bob August 12, 2012 at 7:32 PM #

    I’m an athlete a coach and retired military. My first reaction was, “Oh no” which quickly turned to shock when I saw her pity party on the track. I have no sympathy for elite athletes who don’t show heart and guts and fight and the will to win when things aren’t going in their favor. Check out these two clips to see what real champions do: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YwkP1_w_zA http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nifq3Ke2Q30

Leave a Reply

