Fried Foods and LOL Friday

17 Aug

Hello, hello!

I’m so happy it’s Friday. It wasn’t an awful week or anything like that. It was just okay.

The main highlight of my week is meeting my goal of not eating fried food for 21 days straight. I’m still going strong.

However, my mom and I had a little debate about fried foods. I said they really aren’t that terrible for you. My mom said, “Come on! That’s why America is fat.”

I can only agree to a certain extent.

So, we have French fries, fried chicken, fried fish, donuts, fried… pickles, and fried Oreo’s. I know, that escalated pretty darn quickly.

America does eat really, really unhealthy.  They go to fast food joints constantly, eating French fries and fried chicken. It’s grease covered and loaded with crunchy carby fats.

The thing is, I did eat fried onion rings. That was like the only fried food I ate. Then, I went ape bananas and starting eating French fries. There was a time when I didn’t touch a French fry for five plus years! I wouldn’t touch gosh darn donuts or anything that was fried. I avoided it like the plague.

That was before my eating disorder too. Nonetheless, after my eating disorder, I began to merge some of those products into my diet. I love onion rings. It is a fact.

The thing is, I began eating onion rings like everyday. That’s called unhealthy. That’s what normal Americans do and I didn’t want to be apart of that.

I have read several articles about fried foods and how they can be healthy if fried in the right kind of oil. For example, if you fry potatoes in sunflower oil or canola oil.

To me, either way you are frying something that is perfectly fine (aka a pickle) and making it worst. No matter what kind of oil you use, you are still frying away that nutrients of the cauliflower or  Twinkie – if you will.

Like anything else, I believe unhealthy foods such as sweets or fries should be enjoyed in moderation. I’m still going to not eat any fried foods.

My new challenge besides to reduce my intake of sugar/sweets, is to not eat past 8 PM. I already failed tonight because I was hanging with a bunch of dudes and they ordered me a pizza when I took a nap. How could I not eat pizza? It’s my favorite type of food.

Anyway, starting tomorrow I will do my best to not eat after 8 PM unless I am starving. For the most part I need to clean up my diet a little more. I fairly well honestly, but I just eat too many sweets.

I’ll give more reasons behind my not eating after 8 PM challenge in the next post.

Now, it’s LOL Friday…

Have a fabulous day!

4 Responses to “Fried Foods and LOL Friday”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin August 17, 2012 at 8:32 AM #

    I am one of those people who have to eat after 8, I just get hungrier later in the day so I need it!

  2. HollieisFueledByLOLZ August 17, 2012 at 6:26 PM #

    I get somewhat hungry and have to have a snack after 8pm normally or I don’t sleep as well. I can agree about moderation, I don’t know. I guess I have a lot of opinions on why america is overweight but anyways.

  3. Goober Nut's Life August 24, 2012 at 2:35 PM #

    Good luck on your newest challenge! I just got back from Cali, so I’m trying to catch up on some posts.. 🙂
    I definitely needed the laugh from your LOL Friday pictures! Thanks! 😀

    • lifttorun August 24, 2012 at 3:47 PM #

      My Internet isn’t working anyway. I’m so behind!

Leave a Reply

