No More Comfort Zone

10 Feb

If there is one thing I learned from being away from home for three months is that you need to appreciate the small stuff. There are so many things we do take for granted and I know how cliché that sounds. Being away from home makes me miss the little things like driving my car with the music blasting, my dogs wagging their tails when I come home, and my mom’s home cooked meals.

We take showering for granted for goodness sakes! Our showers at boot camp were like two minutes long and we washed our hair maybe once a week. My showers at home are hot and short, but I still manage to wash my hair. Eating slowly? That’s taken for granted. Reading books for fun? I missed that insanely at boot camp.

It’s the tiny things that I missed. Family, pets, freedom.

My decision to join the Marines was rather snap. I believe if I would have thought it through thoroughly, I wouldn’t have joined. No one wants to leave their comfort zone. No one wants to leave their comfy sofa or their family. You gain the risk of being deployed in the future. You put yourself in danger. You leave your happiness, individuality, and freedom for three months of hell.

In the end, it’s worth it. There is so much more gained than lost.

My point is, to find happiness and the chance to make a difference; you have to leave your comfort zone. You have to put yourself out there and take a risk. You have to try something to gain something. Waking up every day at six AM, eating your oats, working out, and going to school or whatever isn’t making a difference. You are not improving yourself or the ones around you. You are in a rut. The same old routine, which of course is the comfort zone, is worthless after a while.

That’s why I joined the Marines. I wanted a challenge and, gee whiz, am I being challenged mentally. Leaving my family is tough. Leaving my routine is tough. I would love to do my same old routine daily, but what’s my purpose? Yeah, so I run faster than the average person, but that’s not going to do anything unless there is a miracle and I get sponsored. I have to put myself out there. YOU have to put yourself out there. You have to leave something you love to find something you love even more and something that improves your self-worth. It could be going to college, or it could be finding a job and forgetting about college. Just remember, you don’t have to go to college if it isn’t for you. Just because everyone else is going to college, doesn’t mean you have to. It’s the norm currently, I understand, but there is so much more out there. Find what you really want and then go for it.

Leaving your comfort zone is not easy. You have to think positively though. Think good, happy thoughts. Think that at the end of the road, everything will be better. My advice is to not think about it. Just do it and see how is pans out. I guarantee that everything will be okay.

6 Responses to “No More Comfort Zone”

  1. HollieisFueledByLOLZ February 11, 2012 at 7:27 AM #

    Love this girl. When I go home-I always take things for granted. I cannot imagine the differences between boot camp and home though my brother tries to give a good description! 🙂

  2. yourloveboat February 11, 2012 at 11:08 AM #

    This post is so inspiring! I agree with you completely–leaving my comfort zone really puts things into perspective and makes me realize how lucky and fortunate I am.

  3. hippierunner February 11, 2012 at 12:06 PM #

    You are so wise beyond your years! 🙂

  4. Sarah February 12, 2012 at 3:09 AM #

    You are such an amazing young lady and it makes me proud to know you. Very nice post, well written and honest. You are going to do so much good in the USMC 🙂 You just gave me some huge motivation my dear!

  5. allieksmith February 12, 2012 at 4:49 AM #

    Great point! I love this post… it sounds like you learned a lot while away.

  6. Simone March 15, 2012 at 1:26 PM #

    Finally!!! I disagree with something you’ve posted! 🙂
    While I do agree that living outside your comfort zone is the path to enrichment, fulfillment, contentment etc., I find it interesting that you keep bashing college and the institution of education… Just because it’s not outside of your comfort zone doesn’t mean it’s not outside another person’s. You seem to relish the physical pursuit but there are MANY who relish the intellectual and those same people may find that college is where they need to be to push themselves and build their confidence.
    I love your blog because there’s so many things about you that I can relate to and so many things that I can’t 🙂 You have inspired me to do some things that I’ve felt too intimidated to try… In my opinion, that’s the best gift you could give someone.
    BUT, I do feel that while joining the Marines has challenged you, college has/can/will challenge others in many of the same ways.
    I came across your blog because I was looking for inspiration and that’s exactly what I found. So, in essence, thank you for helping me to remember that getting my education was outside of my comfort zone and just what I needed to become who I am today 🙂
    I have no doubt I will be reading about you in the news in the near future. You are destined for great things and I’m happy to have “been along for the ride” while reading your blog!
    xx
    Ps. My best-friend is a Marine and I am beyond grateful and in sheer awe to know people like you two exist. THANK YOU FOR BEING YOU & SERVING OUR COUNTRY!

Leave a comment